Doctoral hats and laurel wreaths as Örebro University celebrated

People at academic celebrations.

Yeasmin Sayeed receives her laurel wreath during the academic celebrations as a further acknowledgement of her doctoral thesis in economics on different ways in which child marriage can be avoided in her native Bangladesh.

New doctors and professors, donning hats and laurel wreaths, took centre stage during Örebro University’s annual academic celebrations. The winners of the ‘Teacher of the Year’ award were also honoured. For Vice-Chancellor Johan Schnürer, it was his first time at the helm of the festivities which were accompanied by the Swedish Chamber Orchestra. The ensuing banquet was planned and executed by students from the School of Hospitality, Culinary Arts and Meal Science.

Anna Duberg’s doctoral thesis on dance as therapy for girls have attracted a great deal of attention. On Saturday, she herself was in the limelight when she was conferred her doctoral degree by Professor Eva Särndahl.

Tuulia Hyötyläinen, chemistry, was one of 16 professors who were inaugurated. Here she is being congratulated by Vice-Chancellor Johan Schnürer.

A pair of doctors. Anna and Axel Nordenskjöld have both done a PhD in medicine and were well-deserving of the refreshments before the banquet. All food and service was provided by students from the School of Hospitality, Culinary Arts and Meal Science.

Senem Eken and Henric Bagerius receiving the ‘Teacher of the Year’ award by Matilda Lundström from Örebro Student Union.

Johan Schnürer is experiencing his first academic celebrations as the Vice-Chancellor of Örebro University.

There is no mistaking Anna L Jonhed’s delight as she receives the laurel wreath by Professor Greger Andersson.

No academic celebrations without a bit of bubbly. Anna Nordenskjöld, who has just been conferred her doctor’s degree, raises her glass.

Mahitab Ezz El Din being conferred her doctor’s degree by Professor Greger Andersson for her thesis in media and communication studies.

The musical elements during the ceremony were delivered by the Swedish Chamber Orchestra with Katarina Andreasson as concert master. They performed works by Swedish composers such as Roman, Kraus, Stenhammar and Larsson.


Photo: Kicki Nilsson/Icon