This page in Swedish

School of Health Sciences

University celebrating with festivities and tradition

The annual academic celebrations were opened by Master of Ceremonies Henrik Scander.

The annual academic celebrations were opened by Master of Ceremonies Henrik Scander.

Festive, ceremonial – and educational.
At Örebro University’s traditional academic celebrations and conferment ceremony, new professors, new doctors, honorary doctors and award winners – one after the other – took to the stage.
And as before, the university invited the public to attend open lectures in Örebro town centre.
Here are the celebrations in pictures.

Kulturkvarteret publik uppifrån.

Five new professors – and the two winners of this year’s prize for outstanding research communication – gave open lectures at the new culture and arts centre, Kulturkvarteret, in Örebro town centre. The programme included talks on dancing for health, contraceptives and the development of media.

Jan Brynhildsen på scenen.

Professor Jan Brynhildsen on contraceptives and how good they are. Here, he is using his body to illustrate the sperm making their way towards the fallopian tube – it takes them five minutes to get there.

Mats Landqvist.

Mats Landqvist, professor of rhetoric, studied crisis communication during the recent pandemic. Observing communication officers in local government, he noted how their attitude to time and faster turnaround times changed as they found their roles partly changing due to the pandemic.

Einar Prytz.

At the ceremony, the winner of the Excellent Teaching Award 2022, Einar Prytz (left), received his certificate from Vice-Chancellor Johan Schnürer. Einar Prytz is lecturer at the School of Behavioural, Social and Legal Sciences. Alongside Mats Liljegren, senior lecturer at the same school, he was appointed winner of the Excellent Teaching Award 2022 by Örebro Student Union.

Sajda Qureshi

Sajda Qureshi, new honorary doctor, is professor of information technology at University of Nebraska in Omaha, USA. Her research focuses on how technology can contribute to a better and more sustainable world, and thereby to the UN’s sustainable development goals.

Sofi Oskarsson och Mats Lundmark

Sofi Oskarsson receiving her laurel wreath by Professor Mats Lundmark, as one of 38 new doctors.

Professorerna i rad.

Four new professors were inaugurated: Thomas Strandberg, Mats Landqvist, Jan Brynildsen and Thomas Barow.

Studenterna med flaggor.

Students carrying flags leading the procession for the inauguration and conferment ceremony. Four new professors were inaugurated, and 38 doctoral degrees were conferred. Recognised were also this year’s honorary doctors, the recipients of the Excellent Teaching Award, and the recipients of the new prize for outstanding research communication.

Anna Duberg med rektor

Anna Duberg was awarded one of two new prizes for outstanding research communication from The Hamrin Foundation and Örebro University. Her research has led to better mental health for many teenagers – through dancing. Anna Duberg is a registered physiotherapist within child and adolescent psychiatry services and affiliated researcher at Örebro University.

Owasim Akram, ny doktor, tillsammans med sin dotter Wasifa Alveen Ayesha och hustrun Rebaka Sultana.

Owasim Akram, new doctor, pictured here with his daughter Wasifa Alveen Ayesha and wife Rebeka Sultana.

Lena Rådström Baastad deltog i den Akademiska högtiden för första gången som landshövding i Örebro län.

Lena Rådström Baastad attended the academic celebrations for the first time in her role as county governor of Örebro County.

Seniorprofessor Bert Allard laddade med snittar tillsammans med nyblivne doktorn Olof Säll och hans hustru Miriam Säll.

Post retirement professor Bert Allard (left) tasting the hors d’oeuvres together with new doctor Olof Säll and his wife Miriam Säll.

Musikhögskolans Kammarkör

Performances by the chamber choir from the School of Music included the final chorus from Mozart’s opera The Magic Flute.

Johan Pehrson, Joakim Larsson och Johanna Näslund utanför Aula Nova

Johan Pehrson (left), leader of the Liberal Party, warming up for the academic celebrations together with Joakim Larsson, professor of environmental pharmacology, who was recognised for his research communication, and the latter’s partner Johanna Näslund.

Rektor Johan Schnürer.

Vice-Chancellor Johan Schnürer attired with the Vice-Chancellor’s chain, which is worn on special occasions. Gifted by the county council and municipalities in Örebro county to the university on receiving its university status, the chain is designed by artist Mia Spjut-Molin.

Maten vid Akademisk högtid.

Jens Ericsson, whose day job includes being the general manager of the Swedish National Culinary Team, was in charge of the banquet meals during Örebro University’s academic celebrations. He was assisted by the first-year students at the School of Hospitality, Culinary Arts and Meal Science.

Elisabeth Svantesson.

Minister for Finance Elisabeth Svantesson (right) is an Örebro University School of Business alumna. Here pictured with Märta Larsen and Caroline Dieker.

Mattias Klum.

Renowned nature photographer Mattias Klum and the new county governor Lena Rådström Baastad. Mattias Klum has recently entered into a collaboration with Örebro University.

Jana Klánová, professor of environmental chemistry at Masaryk University in Brno.

The four new honorary doctors offered open lectures in connection with the academic celebrations. Jana Klánová, professor of environmental chemistry at Masaryk University in Brno, Czech Republic, spoke on how human health can be protected from environmental toxins.

Kicki Nilsson/Icon Photography
Maria Elisson
Jasenka Dobric
Jesper Mattsson